AWARD Fellowships for Women in Africa, 2014

Thursday, July 18, 2013
AWARD is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills through tailored fellowships.

AWARD is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

AWARD Fellows benefit from two-year fellowships focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Fellows stay in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to AWARD training courses held in various locations in Africa.

Women agricultural scientists who are citizens of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree, particularly in the disciplines listed below, are eligible to apply. There is no age restriction.

Agricultural economics
Molecular biology (plant/animal breeding)
Agricultural engineering
Natural resources management
Extension education
Plant/animal virology
Animal and livestock sciences
Food science and nutrition
Soil science
Aquatic resources and fisheries
Forestry and agroforestry
Veterinary sciences
Biodiversity conservation
Water and irrigation management
Crop science

Fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist’s research to improve the livelihoods of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

Applicants have until August 9, 2013 to apply for an AWARD Fellowship.

Click herefor further details and application


Post a Comment